1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

quitting after an extreme and intense 6 years

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Langer93, Aug 26, 2012.

1. :help:What should I do? I've been playing for 6 years, I've got to the level where I put the frighteners on my teachers and peers. Yet even when I went to look at Guildhall school of music I felt so alien and sub-par in comparison to the people there. If I'm not bored and being put off by my local college and tempted to smear what is left of my brains up the wall, I feel like such an ill-informed infant. I feel completely hopeless and lost. I have Bi polar and normally I get round to being music again thanks to the mood swings but for 2 years now I've not enjoyed music and at points I've HATED it. Please help, genuine advice would really be appreciated!
    Thanks,

Tom

2. There's nothing wrong with taking a break... for as long as you think is necessary. You mentioned that you have bi-polar but you didn't mention whether you're getting help for it. If you're not that's what you should seek. Professional help. Your health (mental or otherwise) must come first.

3. bearhart74

bearhart74 Supporting Member

Feb 26, 2009
    Therapy and meds

4. Yes I am getting help Red Rover. Problem with quitting is the amount of pressure on me and the financial aspect that's already been invested. I'd really like nothing more than to just sell it all, forget about music, and make money in a dead end job ;)

5. 96tbird

96tbird PLEASE STAND BY Supporting Member

No advice, I just wish you well in your struggles. Keep on keeping on.

6. Thank you 96tbird!

7. You may feel like you are sub-par but you are likely closer than you think.