1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Rack/pedal setup help

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by DJ.D., Mar 11, 2010.

1. DJ.D.

DJ.D.

Feb 16, 2010
    Sweden
    Hi guys (and girls?)!

I'm kinda new to this effects using and couldn't find matching threads that could help me all the way. The band I'm hooked up with nowadays goes all in-ear (I got the new UE4 - they're great!) on stage so I won't be using a cab but go direct into the PA. I really appreciate this approach since it reduces the sound on stage. The only problem is that I can't rely on my Eden rig anymore to give me the sound I want. I want to invest in a good sounding setup that will give me warm great tone, ease in setup yet flexibility to make changes in nuances in the tone (tube distortion, chorus, more or less compressor, etc.).

This is the gear I am thinking of buying and combining:

Countryman DI type 85 (anyone that knows anything about the new type 10 DI they have?)

DBX 160A compressor

EBS Valvedrive (for that vintage tube distortion)

Some kind of good chorus (suggestions? EBS UniChorus?)

DBX 120 (but only if it gives me the cool "produced-kind-of" deep lows I would want in some songs - a must test! Right?)

All right. Questions then...

1. What do you think about the combination of gear? I now play mainly on a Yamaha TRB5II (great low B but a tad too slick) but I'm looking into investing on a Sandberg PM5 to get a bit tougher tone.

2. How do I best make a signal chain out of this? How do you combine rack mounted gear with pedals without having to go into midi control boards? I would like to have all the gear in front of me on the stage floor but I'm also worried that people will mess things up coming too close with their drinks when on small stages on pubs. Are there any rack cases that have a few rack heights and a pedalboard on top? Would a mixer case work for that?