Sadowsky in distribution agreement with Warwick

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by burk48237, Dec 16, 2019.

1. burk48237

burk48237 Supporting Member

Nov 22, 2004
    Oak Park, MI
    Posted on Sadowsky Guitars Facebook page today. Interesting, I have mixed thoughts.

2. mmbongo

mmbongo I have too many basses. Supporting Member

Wow. Seems like it's more than just distribution though:

"Warwick will build and distribute our Metro and MetroExpress instruments. Warwick will also distribute our strings and accessories. The new, Warwick-made Metro and MetroExpress Models will debut at the 2020 NAMM show at the Warwick/Sadowsky booth."

'Warwick/Sadowsky booth' just sounds odd! But hey, I like both companies. I've had Warwicks ever since I started playing in the 90's.

The distribution part is actually what surprises me, as Warwick does not have a good history of distribution (go right now and try to order some spare parts from their USA distributor).

pcake, BeefPie84, Sadowsky and 10 others like this.
  3. projectapollo

projectapollo Supporting Member

Aug 12, 2009
    Tennessee
    German (I hope its built in Germany) built Sadowsky Metro & MetroExpress sound high quality to me. Although the distinction between Metro and MetroExpress starts to blur, perhaps. Or maybe Warwick will just take over management of existing Metro and MetroExpress facilities.

4. buldog5151bass

buldog5151bass Kibble, milkbones, and P Basses. And redheads.

Oct 22, 2003
    Connecticut
    I would be surprised if they were built in Germany, because of the price. Warwick can contract with the factories just as easily.

Beej, pcake, eadg98005 and 2 others like this.
  5. knumbskull

knumbskull

Jul 28, 2007
    UK
    I thought Metros were made in Japan. it will be interesting to see if this changes as I didn't think Warwick do any manufacturing there currently?

DJ Bebop likes this.
  6. James Collins

James Collins

Mar 25, 2017