Short Scale Thoughts: G&L Fallout or Squier Classic Vibe Mustang?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Mike Patton, Dec 11, 2020.

1. Mike Patton

Mike Patton

Dec 11, 2020
    I'm new to the world of short-scale Bass guitars. I've tried a 32" Jaguar but am thinking of going for a 30" due to my physical limitations. I've noticed the G&L Fallout Tribute and the 60's Squier Classic Vibe Mustang "seem" to be identical in body size and shape. If you've had experience with each can you comment on if this is accurate or not? Sadly, finding these models in a store to compare has proven to be impossible (maybe due to Covid's impact on storefront retailers?). To my, admittedly, limited knowledge it looks like the G&L is possibly a more refined version - certainly the Bridge seems far beefier. Thanks in advance! 1 G&L.png 1 Squire.png

2. redstrand

redstrand

May 18, 2007
    Saint Louis, MO
    Fool For Four Strings
    I'd go Fallout, the mini L-1000 will have more tonal versatility.

3. Mike Patton

Mike Patton

Dec 11, 2020
    Thank you - I'll do more research on the L-1000 - still learning all I can!

4. redstrand

redstrand

May 18, 2007
    Saint Louis, MO
    Fool For Four Strings
    Having had a full scale L-1000 they were awesome. The Fallout has a arm cut which would be more comfortable too.

5. Mike Patton

Mike Patton

Dec 11, 2020
    Arm Cut? Great! That's one of the reasons I "physically" preferred playing Strats instead of Tele or LP. Thanks for pointing that out.

woodyng2 likes this.
  6. redstrand

redstrand

May 18, 2007
    Saint Louis, MO
    Fool For Four Strings
    I have to retire my slab body stuff due to a recent injury, I might get one of these to replace my '51 reissue

Mike Patton and woodyng2 like this.
  7. woodyng2

woodyng2 Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2015
    Oregon Coast