Should I just leave?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Felken, Jun 14, 2019.

1. Felken

Felken

Jun 28, 2016
    Ottawa, CAN
    RANT POST.

I’ve been jamming with these guys for about 4 months now, but I actually first got in contact with one of the members almost 2 years ago.

I first met the vocalist on Kijiji a little under 2 years ago. We kept in touch while on the lookout for other band members. Finally we found a couple of guys and started jamming.

Personality-wise, I like the guys. They have a good attitude and they’re professional. They come to rehearsals and practice their stuff, just as I do.

But there’s one guy I’m having problems with. Basically, I think we have conflicting personalities, and that’s causing a few issues.

For one, I find the guy is always contradicting me for whatever I say.
    Yesterday I was talking about a song and how that song has a lot of triplets. And he goes “no it’s not triplets” (it was). Another time he told me the chord progression was wrong. The chord progression I made. Another time we were talking about recording. How about in studio for an album? “It’s too expensive because of the multiple takes” I know, but we’re only going into the studio if we’re 100% ready and can play everything in one take. “Yeah but there’s always a better take”. Ok, sure we can always record at home nowadays and make it sound good. “No but it’s expensive”. Not necessarily “It’s expensive”

You know? Little contradictions to every little thing I say.

He also always asks me to turn down, while he himself uses a huge cab and absolutely dominates the mix.

Another thing is that he and the other guitarist always go into these prolonged wank sessions and play the intro riffs to all of the standard metal tunes. Ya know, raining blood, the beautiful people, etc.
    “Hey! You know this song?”
    *plays guitar riff*
    “Yeah I know that song!”
    *Proceeds to loop the main riff for 10 minutes*