spend more than 1500 on the first instrument

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by iTzPrime, Sep 5, 2017.

Tags:
  1. iTzPrime

iTzPrime

May 30, 2016
    Hey talkbass
    I am currently in the situation, where I started playing guitar 3 weeks ago, and I love it as much as I did playing bass in the beginning. I have now played the bass for over 8 years (of my 22 year old life) and plan to do that with guitar as well.
    I was at several music stores and fell in love with a guitar for 1750 bucks, but I am unsure if it is worth it for me being a bad guitarist.

Would you consider spending 1500 bucks on your first bass/guitar if you know you will stick to it?

2. bluegreenturtle

bluegreenturtle

Mar 15, 2003
    Oregon
    The bottom line is getting an instrument that you want to come back to over and over. If you're not a professional, the quality of the sound coming out of it is not really being judged - so it doesn't matter if it's great or not. What matters is you wanting to continue to use it. A great player can make a POS work for them just fine - the level of your playing is not the issue.

As somebody who's bought a lot of expensive basses over the years, I can tell you that we can rationalize almost anything to justify what we really want to buy. I would, however, give yourself a cooling off period.

3. iTzPrime

iTzPrime

May 30, 2016
    what time would you recommend for cooling off?

4. bluegreenturtle

bluegreenturtle

Mar 15, 2003
    Oregon
    At least 3 days.

pappabass and George Himmel like this.
  5. lfmn16

lfmn16 Supporting Member

Sep 21, 2011
    charles town, wv
    Absolutely. A good guitar will not make you a better player, but it's easier to get a good sound out of a good guitar than a cheap piece of ****. Having said that, you could probably find the same guitar used for about half that. You are 22 years old. You're an adult. You don't need permission from a bunch of strangers on the internet. So go buy it. :D