1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Squier J Bass (Made in Korea CN5) issues

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by MrMoo, Oct 5, 2013.

1. MrMoo

MrMoo

Sep 27, 2013
    hey homies
    I'm a reformed guitarist who's suddenly decided to pick up a bass. So a friend sold me a Squier he had catching dust in his basement for very little money. The bass is a Made in Korea J Bass made by Kor Tek in '95. The bass was in ok cosmetical condition but it does need a bit of TLC
    My main issue is the action. I can fit almost fit a finger between the strings and the fretboard. Being a guitarist I find that so hard to play and I am a bit confused. Did I get the wrong bass or is there a way I can reduce the action so that I don't kill myself playing that?
    Now I have 2 options, take it into a workshop and get it set up for me (I still have my mate's strings on from WWII and they are as stiff as iron rods, plus one of the screws that holds one of the pick ups is sticking out and aesthetically is not the best) or sell it and get a bass with a more guitar friendly action (Ibanez, Yamaha, Cort)
    Any thoughts. Sorry I sound like a moron, but I'm still a newbie

2. Malak the Mad

Malak the Mad Over the River and through the Looking Glass Supporting Member

Greetings and Welcome! :hyper:

Sounds like you need to take it in for a proper set-up. Depending on where you go, it shouldn't cost more than $50-$75, not counting any new parts necessary. I would also suggest some new strings for you to break-in yourself.

I took my first bass to a local music shop, bought a new set of strings at the recommendation of the clerk and left it for their off-site tech to give it the once-over. What I didn't pay for, but was just as valuable, was the peace of mind when told my first-ever bass was in excellent condition and a great score.