1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Still can't play "Teen Town"

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by bassfart, Oct 17, 2010.

1. bassfart

bassfart

May 5, 2008
    I have been playing bass now for over 20 years and I still can't play Teen Town, my fingers just don't move that fast. It's the opening Octave descending run that I just can't get. The string skipping is killing me. Is there some exercise that I can practice that will help me get up to speed to play this song? Jaco is the man.

2. Jazz Ad

Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol

Get it perfect at half tempo (which is quite the achievement already) then slowly build up. It works with anything.

3. +1. If that doesn't work, try even slower.

4. dpbass66

dpbass66 Supporting Member

May 20, 2010
    If playing it really slow is still not working (if you are really diligent it should), add this to the mix.....make an exercise out of just playing ocatves (the first two notes of TT), then the dom 7 interval (the second 2 notes of TT) and then the fifth (the third 2 notes of TT). then make exercises of moving ONLY between notes one and two and notes 3 and 4 of , and then notes 3 and 4 and 5 and 6 of TT, again VERY slowly, and only notching the metronome up unitl you can play the exercise at the current tempo. When you move the metronome up it is OK that you cant play the next tempo, just keep working on the new tempo until you can do it.

Good luck.....

5. dpbass66

May 20, 2010
    PS...I think the best fingering for that opening lick is 1-4 1-1(her you bar across the strings and play that Bb with the meaty lower part of your first finger) and of course the last 2 notes of that lick are 1-5.

6. one technique that helped me is completely relaxing your right hand when plucking and pluck soft, it gave me more speed and a more even tone to my playing. after all the amp should do the work.

7. esa372

esa372