Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Still got the blues...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by redjeep!, Oct 25, 2004.

1. redjeep!

redjeep! Guest

Jan 19, 2002
    Dublin
    Ok folks here's my problem.

I've been playing for a couple of years and have a fairly solid practice routine, but as yet haven't yet found a band (I've moved countrys, jobs and done a lot of travel in the middle of it all).

I met up last night with a well respected local musician who's played with some very big names and who wants to form a blues group. He's asked me to play bass with him.

I'm really looking forward to it and am excited by the whole thing - but want to see if there is any way I can prepare myself better for our first session - does anybody know of anywhere were I can find some transcribed blues numbers so that I can learn a few numbers ?

I've used a couple of blues bass method books and understand the different forms etc, but would like to get a few standards done before we meet.

Any help would be well received.

Thanks,
    Andy

2. CJK84

CJK84

Jan 22, 2004
    Maria Stein, OH
    Maybe contact the musician you met and ask him to recommend some recordings - at least a dozen songs - that he prefers (e.g., perhaps he digs the sounds of T-Bone Walker and Buddy Guy)

Get copies of the recordings and listen to them / play along with them as much as possible.

If you can develop a discriminating ear for the essence of the type of blues that he likes, he'll be impressed.

There'll probably be no shortcuts. Be prepared to work hard to emulate the feel of a good bassist in the sub-genre(s) of blues that this guy likes.

Good luck - I like the blues a lot so I'm a little envious of you!

3. redjeep!

redjeep! Guest

Jan 19, 2002
    Dublin
    Thanks for the reply CJK84.