1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Technique Decision

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by DrBone, Apr 14, 2009.

1. DrBone

DrBone

Oct 25, 2007
    Jersey City, NJ
    I've been rather unsatisfied with my playing recently and wish to increase the fluidity of my playing, mainly right hand technique. I've been playing for around 5 years or so with a standard two finger + floating thumb technique. I've been watching some Gary Willis videos and it seems like the three finger technique he uses is really efficient and powerful, especially when it come to octaves and other string skipping licks. On the other hand I listen to other players using just two fingers who seem to rip it just as hard.

I'm about to go on an extended technique/exercise but I can't decide if I should adopt the Willis technique or just stick with what I'm using. Picking up a new technique would set me back for a while but ultimately pay larger dividends. Training my current technique will have more immediate pay-offs but might reach a limiting point well below a three finger technique.

Any input would be helpful, I stuck right on the fence right now...

2. tobie

tobie

Nov 26, 2008
    How sure are you of this? I have to ask, as some of the best guys out there are using your current technique... :meh:

3. Mikio

Mikio

Feb 21, 2009
    Santiago de Chile
    I switched from 3 fingers to 2, because it sounds better, and I can go pretty fast with only 2 fingers x)

PS: floating thumb sucks.

4. unclejane

unclejane Guest

Jul 23, 2008
    I'd say try it and see what results you get, but also be prepared to find it unsuitable for your style and have to abandon ship.