The Makings of a Principle

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by Aaron Blouin, Apr 18, 2005.

1. Being new to the Upright Bass, I started playing with a community orchestra to get my slab hands in shape. When I got to my first rehearsal, I asked the other two bass players whom was the principle. Since there was never more than two bassists at any one time, one was never considered to be a principle, and their playing showed it. The section was very disjointed and disorganized, lots of missed downbeats etc.

So I want to step up to the plate and do a little leadership, but I want to know what makes a good principle. I don't even know the responsibilities of the position. I can play the part better than the others but its more than just being the best musician of the section right?
  2. BGreaney

BGreaney Guest

Mar 7, 2005
    from my experience, you want to know whatever it is that you're playing in and out. know what you're playing and know what everyone else is playing and what your part means in relation to other parts (shouold it be brought out, quiet...). not missing any entrances would also be a plus...
  3. KSB - Ken Smith

KSB - Ken Smith Banned Commercial User

Mar 1, 2002
    Perkasie, PA USA
    Owner: Ken Smith Basses, Ltd.
    The Principal must lead the section in many ways. In my case I do the Bowings where needed. I split parts upper and lower where needed or Pizz/Arco. The Principal plays all the Solos. The principal stands out when the section is 'Soli' as well. I usually play above the section Volume wise and try to cut thru the Orchestra. The Principal Bass should also instruct when necessary. Ties, slurs, fingerings etc.

If you do not have the experience to lead then just do your best. The Conductor may or may not appoint a Principal.