1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Total newb confused on bass amplification

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by nboyer941, May 1, 2009.

1. nboyer941

nboyer941

Jul 22, 2008
    Burnsville, MN
    I've been playing for about a year and am just starting to play out. I searched and couldn't find a clear answer to my novice questions. For whatever reason, my bandmates and people I meet can never give me a straight answer.

The way I see it, there are three ways to play....
    1) Simply play out of your rig (loud)
    2) DI into the PA
    3) Mic your speakers into the pa

What is the most common way to go here? In what different situations would you use these possibilities? Are there other ways to go about this?

Seems to me if you di into the pa, you will not get the tone you want out of your cabinet. If you play straight out of your rig, you can't mix it.

But I hardly ever see a mic'd bass amp.

Help?

2. modulusman

modulusman Banned

Jan 18, 2004
    montana
    Most bands starting out will just depend on their amps for volume. This is usually because they don't have a decent/large enough PA for a DI or mic. When they move further up the foodchain they will probably be playing with a pro PA and having a Bass rig is not necessary. Two of the last 3 national acts my band opened for the bass players had no bass rig. One guy was using a BBE pre-amp with IEMs the other just a DI with IEMs. When you get to that level no one hears your bass rig anyway it is pretty much all PA. It is not uncommon for the soundman to use a DI and also mic the bass players amp if he has one.

3. What you missed with the three options are combinations of the three options. For instance, you could play through your rig, have a DI between the bass and amp, and mic the rig.