1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Transitioning...

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Tim AC, Aug 27, 2018.

1. Tim AC

Tim AC

Aug 27, 2018
    So, I've been playing bass guitar for 50 years, and recently got it in my head that I should learn to play upright (mostly because of a growing interest in prewar blues, trad jazz, and swing). Are there any others who have done that who have tips? I've always preferred short-scale basses, and the idea of a 40" scale is kind of daunting (though I know the technique is so different that there's no direct comparison). Anyway, what should I be thinking as I shop for a (cheap) upright and what are the stupid mistakes I should try to avoid as I fumble with a new instrument?

Max George and Sam Dingle like this.
  2. Sam Dingle

Sam Dingle Supporting Member

Aug 16, 2011
    New Orleans
    1st things first GET A TEACHER. You will hurt yourself if you don't have a teacher. That is super important.

2nd there are 3 ways you can go: Get a good plywood near you and learn on that. No issue with that. You can get one for $1000-$2500. If you're able to afford $2500 I highly recommend getting a new upton bass, but you don't need to go that way.

Where in the country are you located if you don't mind me asking?

IamGroot, Ross Kratter and fu22ba55 like this.
  3. fu22ba55

fu22ba55 Supporting Member

Apr 16, 2009
    What Sam said--get a teacher, and start on a plywood. Best case, you can find a reputable shop/luthier nearby that will be able to inspect or recommend a plywood starter bass.