1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

WHAT KIND OF BASSIST ARE YOU?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Bassace28, Jan 4, 2012.

1. Are you a melo jazz bassists? A slappa da bass funk bassist? Or are you a headbanging bassist, or anything in between???? :bassist:

2. Mediocre rock bassist.

3. joebar

joebar

Jan 10, 2010
    i naturally am drawn to very consonant, melodic music. i have a love for swing and smooth jazz and love seventh chords. i can play all sorts of genres but i prefer to walk. i do not slap.

4. BIG97BEN

BIG97BEN

Sep 12, 2011
    Richmond VA
    I'm a "not quite good enough to classify bassist". I kind of enjoy playing alittle bit of everything. I guess you could say I'm a mutt bassist.

5. ZanaZulu807

ZanaZulu807

Aug 6, 2007
    Mellow jazzy, headbanging groovy, chest thumping, fist pumping mother f^cker!

6. RedLeg

RedLeg Supporting Member

Jan 24, 2009
    Kaiserslautern, Germany
    Nov Shmoz Ka Pop?
    is overpaid hack a categorie?

7. AtomicPunk

AtomicPunk Supporting Member

Dec 3, 2007
    Detroit Metro, MI USA
    I'm decent. There are lots of players that do stuff I can't do (like slap), but they come up to me after the show and tell me how good I am. So I guess I do something right.

8. Sonicfrog

Sonicfrog Supporting Member

Jan 4, 2008
    Fresno, CA
    My playing has often been described as McCartneyesque! Though I often construct consolidated / bare bones / muscular lines, a-la Sting, I do love most to play melodic lines, so I can't argue with that assessment.

9. None of those.

10. Bo_H

Bo_H

Jul 2, 2004
    Definitely a rock bassist with some funk tendencies. Like Flea, but lazy. I slap at home but never in public. Too scared...

11. I like a good metal riff, Walk by Pantera for example

12. Phalex

Phalex Semper Gumby Supporting Member