What was your worst on-stage screwup?

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by frsbdg, Apr 16, 2016.

1. frsbdg

frsbdg

Jan 4, 2015
    Anchorage, AK
    My band played its first actual gig a couple weeks ago. On the second song, something didn't sound right as soon as I started playing. I played the same line again and it still sounded like crap. Then I realized I was playing the chorus part during the verse! Afterwards, I said "sorry about that" to my bandmates, and it turns out nobody noticed. Makes me wonder how bad a bass player has to screw up to be noticeable. It also occurred to me that playing bass could be an alternative to the witness protection program.

I'm sure everyone has a screwup story or five. What's your favorite?

2. LT131

LT131

Jan 25, 2015
    Deep South
    I really don't want to talk about it.

3. Michael B

Michael B

Dec 16, 2015
    Lowell, MA
    A wrong note played with the beat is far less noticeable.

I ended a song early once (lead vocals then). The band all caught on and stopped together. They had to tell me about it after I had no idea. I guess that's a good kind of screw up.

The only bad show was one where the guitarist rig was failing. The band didn't handle those songs well as it happened and it was noticeable. The crowd just sees you messing up they don't know or care about why.

Last edited: Apr 17, 2016
  4. McG

McG Goat Hill Gamblers

Oct 6, 2010
    Costa Mesa, CA
    I played a dive bar many years ago that had toxic air. I mean the place reeked of unclean restrooms and beer stained filthy carpet. Truly the dive gig of your nightmares.