1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Which cab for hard rock?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by racelaj, Mar 14, 2013.

1. racelaj

racelaj

Nov 19, 2012
    First off - I'm fairly new to the bass and gigging world. Currently in a hard rock cover band with monthly gigs at a small bar (<50ppl). I've been shlepping a 1x15 combo that is getting long in the tooth and its girth (90 lbs) is getting tiresome at my age. Soon I will be getting a Hartke HA3500 or 5500 from my local shop. Shop owner (a veteran bass player) is recommending the Hartke 4.5XL to go along with it but my back is already complaining and the floor space at the gig is seriously lacking, not to mention we have a real nice PA system (+sub) built by the store owner mentioned above totally capable of handling whatever we through at it. So I am wondering what the tb faithful can recommend in a small package (212 or 115?), that is easy on the wallet (<$750) and my back, which would go well with the Hartke amp, my P-bass, and hard rock. Looking for specific brand + model suggestions...One final note, my practice amp is an Ampeg BA108 and I LOVE the tone of that thing! :cool: Thanks - J

2. I would look to a greenboy Bassic 115 loaded with the Eminence 3015. Light, loud, Not huge.

3. capncal

capncal

Apr 14, 2009
    Sansamp Bass Driver DI into the board. Lightest rig ever.

4. Ampeg 810 of course :D

Need more info. What type of venues? PA support? Is size or weight factor? What amp are you using? Do you like clean or dirty tone?

5. racelaj

racelaj

Nov 19, 2012
    It's all in my original post...

6. woody357

woody357 Supporting Member

Jun 17, 2005
    Whatever sounds good to your ears!!!!!

7. No it isn't. "Small bar" doesn't really answer any of the questions.

8. Plucky The Bassist