1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Why are some basses so easy to setup?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by allexcosta, May 24, 2011.

1. allexcosta

allexcosta

Apr 7, 2004
    First of all, I'm not a builder... I've been doing my own setups for many years and this question have crossed my mind and I'd like to hear what you builders have to say...

Let's take 2 basses: A Fodera Emperor and a MusicMan Stingray, both well made, both sound good, etc...

Why's the Fodera a lot easier to setup? Any hint of a turn to the truss rod and the neck comes right to where it needs to be. It seems that there's a lot more tension on the MM neck.

I know Fodera doesn't use carbon rods, it's a basic 3-piece maple neck, but there isn't much tension on their necks.

I am looking for answers more specific than "because Fodera basses are boutique" or "because Fodera uses better woods". It has something to do with the design but I can't get a grasp of what it is...

Thanks in advance...

2. jumbodbassman

jumbodbassman Gold Supporting Member

Dec 28, 2009
    Stuck in traffic -NY & CT
    Born Again Tubey
    Vinny uses aged wood, cross grains, at least 3 peices.... top hotch truss rod, nice thick fretboard. MM probably one peice maple cut last week. All 3 of my MM are pains in the asses, none of my 5 foderas.....not since 83 when i bought first one

Attached Files:

3. SDB Guitars

SDB Guitars Commercial User

Jul 2, 2007
    Coeur d'Alene, ID
    Shawn Ball - Owner, SDB Guitars
    I'd say that it all comes down to a combination of construction methods, materials and detail work.