1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

why is there no 1176 compressor in a pedal...

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by JohnDavisNYC, Apr 21, 2010.

1. JohnDavisNYC

JohnDavisNYC

Jan 11, 2008
    Brooklyn, NY
    Endorsing Artist: Aguilar, D'Addario
    seriously.

how has one of the most badass classic compressors for bass NOT had any stomp box clones made, or at least attempted? give me input, output, attack, release, and a 5 way switch (yes, include the all buttons mode)... and an LED bar meter for gain reduction.

that's all i ask for.

john

2. Taylor Livingston

Taylor Livingston Supporting Member Commercial User

Dec 25, 2002
    Oregon, US
    Owner, Iron Ether Electronics
    I'm not a compressor expert by any means, but this one has big input and output transformers. So a stompbox would either have to do away with them, in which case you might lose some of what you like about the sound, or the box would have to be huge and nobody would buy it. If you didn't think the transformers were giving you any of the color of this comp that you like, then you could go transformerless and it would be a reasonable thing to do.

3. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    Of course I agree with you wholeheartedly. Sebatron made one, but he gave up after building the prototypes because he got frustrated trying to source the right power supply for non-Australian customers. And his business in rack gear is sufficiently busy that he hasn't felt the need to focus his time on the pedal market.

But if someone did it up properly, I'd be all over it. :)

4. JohnDavisNYC

JohnDavisNYC

Jan 11, 2008
    Brooklyn, NY
    Endorsing Artist: Aguilar, D'Addario