1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Advice on upgrade for MIM Jazz

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by LowKee, Mar 17, 2009.

1. LowKee

LowKee

Jan 18, 2009
    Bourbonnais, IL
    Hey everyone,
    I just bought a Fretless Fender MIM Jazz bass this morning and was hoping someone could give me their opinion. I want to begin upgrading hardware on it as soon as I can but don't really know much Fenders and their tone yet.
    So:
    What are your opinions on which bridge I should buy? What would give me the best sustain and tone without string though?
    Also, what pickups would you recommend in a fretless jazz? Keep in mind that I am a poor college student and can't spend loads of cash on upgrades.
    So basically, what will give me the best bang for my buck when it come to upgrading these two things?

Thanks guys,
    Peace

2. Why don't you play it for a while and see what you think needs modification? If it sounds like you want it to sound, you don't to make any mods.

3. dougjwray

dougjwray

Jul 20, 2005
    Personally, I would only upgrade a MIM bass if it had parts falling off of it. (And I've had mine for 6 years without that happening.) :smug:
    But a lot of people will probably recommend a Badass bridge and pickups made by Seymour Duncan, Bartolini, Lindy Fralin and others. There are a lot of options out there.
    People will also probably ask you to give more info about what style(s) you play, etc.

4. dougjwray

dougjwray

Jul 20, 2005

5. LowKee

LowKee

Jan 18, 2009
    Bourbonnais, IL
    I be playing mostly jazz with this bass. I'll use my Carvin on a most of the other stuff I do.

6. Philbiker

Philbiker Pat's the best!

Dec 28, 2000
    Northern Virginia, USA