Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Are standards covers?

Discussion in 'Music [DB]' started by Marc Piane, Mar 4, 2005.

1. Marc Piane

Marc Piane

Jun 14, 2004
    Chicago
    I have been playing jazz for about 15 years. I have never considered standards to be cover tunes. I've always considered the improv to be different every time as well arrangements to keep changing.

I had a discussion with a rocker friend of mine and he was not satisfied with my reasons. He claims that the same can be said of some rock but they are still covering a tune. Thoughts?

2. When I played rock, we always referred to "cover tunes" as songs that weren't "originals." Maybe that's changed over the years or it was a local thing....

3. Alexi David

Alexi David

May 15, 2003
    NYC
    I don't understand what ya mean. Because we improvise on a composition, it's not considered a "cover"? can you rephrase it please...If we are defining "cover", well I guess it would mean playing a composition that you didn't write. Now if that piece has a melody and chords, and you improv over it - it does not make it yours IMO. Then again in jazz, many liberties are taken when playing tunes, and tunes are rewritten into others (same in blues), though it's mostly the chord changes and not the moelodies. Jazz guys are a bit more lax about it - When rock musicians do that, they end up in court ("He's So Fine" vs. "My Sweet Lord" a notable example)

Is this what you meant?

4. Marc Piane

Marc Piane

Jun 14, 2004
    Chicago
    yes.

I guess it is really a discussion of terminology. I've just never heard any jazzer (including myself) thinking of what they do as 'covering tunes'.

5. Alexi David

Alexi David

May 15, 2003
    NYC