1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Breaking myself of the dreaded "smiley face"

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by Ski3223, Apr 22, 2010.

1. Ski3223

Ski3223

Mar 27, 2010
    Norman, Oklahoma
    After doing a lot of reading, I've realized that the "smiley face" EQ that I so love to play with has really hurt my live sound over the years. It's always sounded good to me on stage, but I never realized how little it cut through till I read some stories here.

I've been playing like this for around 8 years now, and it's time to reevaluate my sound. SO, I've forced myself to set my 'Ray's 3EQ to flat, and my amp's (rumble 100, don't laugh please) EQ to flat as well, and go from there in hopes that I could 'detrain' my acquired 'smiley face ear.'

The good thing about the rumble is that it has a CD in function, so I've been plugging my iPod up to it and playing with headphones to try and get a good idea of the sound without my carpeted room acoustics.

My question is: Could this method provide me with a somewhat accurate view of what my bass would sound like in a live venue with a band behind me?

2. It might be a step in the general direction, but probably not much use in a real-world situation. However, on the plus side, it should get you out of the "but a smiley-face EQ sounds brilliant at home in my bedroom on my own at low volume" view that a surprising amount of people take to the stage.

What it can't do is emulate:

1) How your amp interacts with the room (the physical space plus all those reflective surfaces)
    2) How hour amp interacts with the room when there's
    a) at least two other people kicking it out (guitar & drums)
    b) a crowd (the audience can change the room dynamic enormously).

The only way to really figure out what works for you is at the venue (& each one will be slightly different).