Can Somebody Help Me Design a Cab? Please :)

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by deadinameadow, Jun 17, 2018.

1. I've recently ordered an Eminence Kappa 15LFA driver and i would like to build a cabinet that is perfect for this speaker, only i don't understand any of this haha.

I've been looking at graphs and numbers and things that i really dont understand because I am new to this.

I am going to buy a 4x10 cabinet one of these days (hopefully very soon) and this single 15 is going to be paired to it. I also am looking into a 500w head (anybody have experience with the Ampeg Portaflex 500?;)) I've never built anything before lol WINISD is all gibberish to me

The most confusing part is the HPF that Eminence says must be used with it, what does this even do for me?:roflmao:

I know that there's a lot of experienced people on here so thank you to anyone who can help:bassist:

This link contains ALL the information on this speaker: "Eminence Kappa-15LFA 15" Low Frequency Driver 8 Ohm" from www.parts-express.com!

Pbassmanca likes this.
  2. mmbongo

mmbongo Regular Human Bartender Supporting Member

Aug 5, 2009
    Carolinas
    Jeez man, I'm going to try not to be negative here..but jeeez. I'm not sure where to start! You've never built anything before, and you don't understand frequency graphs, tunings, or HP filters. So not only do you need to learn carpentry, you also need to learn acoustic engineering.

PLUS, a 4x10 is a very poor match with a 1x15. That just does not work well.

Just how dead set are you on building something yourself?

3. Lol I mainly bought the speaker as a replacement on my vintage 2x15, not realizing it might not sound good. I don't have it yet, so I'm not necessarily set on anything yet

Pbassmanca likes this.
  4. mmbongo

mmbongo Regular Human Bartender Supporting Member

Aug 5, 2009
    Carolinas