Downgrading your rig?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by aah_scary, Aug 31, 2017.

Tags:
  1. aah_scary

aah_scary

Nov 4, 2016
    West Sussex
    Hey guys, looking to get some advice.

I'm thinking of selling my gear for cheaper gear and pocketing the difference. I'll start off with the fact that I'm a novice bedroom player who bought a good bass and amp not long after I started playing. I don't practice every day or even often but pick it up every now and then. Nowhere even close to being able to play gigs and stuff.
    I've currently got a MIJ FSR Aerodyne Jazz in LPB and a TV Electronic BG250-112 which is a lot more than I need (and maybe a tad expensive). I'm not sure what amp I'd get (Could keep it) but I was looking at getting an Ibanez SR300E, which after picking up in a shop, seemed to be a very good bass for £265!
    I reckon I could get a good £500 by swapping the bass and amp; which, while I don't necessarily need the money, it would come in useful at the moment. The downside is, I quite like this bass, even if it doesn't see a lot of action.

So, if you were me. Would you keep the gear or downgrade?

el_Bajo_Verde likes this.
  2. Haans

Haans Altruistic nihilist Supporting Member

Oct 31, 2005
    Bergen, Norway
    If you love the bass, keep it. I've sold one or two instruments that I loved, and I regret it. An amp is replaceable in my opinion, so if you can sell that and get a used Fender Rumble or small Ampeg for example, that makes sense.

The FSR is a limited run in a popular colour, and will probably hold its value well, it might even increase in value at some point. The Ibanez will most likely not. If you don't need the money, don't give up a good bass.

osonu, Aaron Mc, osv and 1 other person like this.
  3. murmur70

murmur70

May 3, 2017
    Indiana
    I think you would regret it if you sold it. I am still kicking my self for selling two past basses.