1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

eating alone in public

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Linas, May 8, 2010.

1. Linas

Linas

Jan 6, 2005
    Chicago
    I really don't like eating alone in public. Discuss.

2. what if youre hungry and waiting for your flight in an airport? would you wait to eat on board? would that be sufficient coverage?

that said one of the most pathetic things i can imagine is someone alone on a park bench crying and eating a birthday cake alone.

there are some biological necessities that i am not into displaying publicly...

3. MakiSupaStar

MakiSupaStar The Lowdown Diggler

Apr 12, 2006
    Huntington Beach, CA
    There was a point, up until college where I was the same way. Now, I don't really care.

4. WalterBush

WalterBush

Feb 27, 2005
    Yuma, Az
    Full disclosure, I'm a certified Fender technician working in a music store that carries Fender, Yamaha, and Ibanez products among others.
    I enjoy eating alone in public. It's quieter, and I can concentrate on the food.

5. Why does it matter if you eat alone in public or in private?

6. MAJOR METAL

MAJOR METAL The Beagle Father Supporting Member

I have many years of experience with this, mostly being single. Having a book makes me feel just a little less emo in these settings.

7. burk48237

burk48237 Supporting Member

Nov 22, 2004
    Oak Park, MI
    I actually look forward to sitting down with a good book and a good meal. Such is a sales reps life.

8. Mike M.

Mike M.

Feb 14, 2010
    I've been alone for years. Eating alone in public? Fact is just today I ate in a restaurant for the first time in about 6 months. (I very seldom dine out). And of course I was alone.

Did it bother me? Should it have? Seriously, I never gave it a thought.