1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

GAS free guide to Bass purchasing

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by AngelCrusher, Apr 7, 2015.

1. AngelCrusher

AngelCrusher Supporting Member

Sep 12, 2004
    Mesa Boogie, Tech 21, Taylor
    I have been a pro bass player for half my life. This includes touring and studio work. How I got there I believe is from hard work and the desire to maximize the most out of what I had at the time. For the up and coming guys who would like to pursue this path, I offer my suggestions, which should save you a lot of money and make you a better player.

The rules are simple. I will present you 3 styles of bass guitars you can buy that will service you for your whole playing life. Trust me when I say that you can play about any gig possible with just even 1 of these basses. Each one you add is for a specific reason and over the course of an evolving career path.

When I was a kid, I had Bass Player Magazine for my GAS inducing articles. I also had no real money, so I just read and fantasized about these mythical boutique basses that all my favorite players were using. At the end of the day I still walked home to my PBass copy because that is what I had.

Disclaimer - This guide is based on my experience only, and is not the only way to go. In my experience, it is the best way to go as a career minded player who need to maximize cash flow and practice time. If you are more of a hobbyist or someone with plenty of coin who just enjoys buying really nice basses, please continue on, and enjoy those instruments. This is more focused to the younger player who wants to make this a career and needs a buying guide.

Which leads me to -

Stage 1 - Commitment to becoming a Pro player (hired gun/touring artist/studio player).