Help with a buying decision Fender Precision Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by dugout, Apr 25, 2022.

1. dugout

dugout

Oct 17, 2021
    So, I'm looking at three basses and money is not really an issue, although I don't want to go crazy since I'm a beginner/intermediate, but trying to get better faster.

If I had to choose between a
    Squier Vintage 70s
    Squier Jaguar full sized modified
    Fender MIM 2008
    Fender MIM 2018
    Fender PJ Special Edition
    Fender Precision Players Bass

What factors should I look at? How much better will one be than the other stock? I know that's a lot of choices, but maybe some I shouldn't even consider?

2. lowendblues

lowendblues Supporting Member

Oct 8, 2004
    Ohio
    If you dont mind the Squier name on the headstock, I'd go for a Classic Vibe '70's precision in a heartbeat.

Kipp Harrington, tvbop, Max and 8 others like this.
  3. creaturegods

creaturegods

Sep 23, 2017
    Of the models you listed, it's going to be hard for anyone to say "[x] is objectively a better bass than [y] because of [z]."
    A large portion of the factors that make a bass "better" are completely subjective and differ from player to player.

This is probably not the answer you want to hear but I recommend getting your hands on as many of these options as you can and actually feeling them for yourself. The way they balance, the way the neck feels in your hand, the way the bass hangs on a strap. Some of them will fit and some of them won't. You'll be able to tell pretty quickly and you'll gain more satisfaction in the purchase, knowing that you went with your gut and picked the one that felt right, rather than picking the one that a bunch of forum dudes told you to pick.

Best of luck and be sure to post pics of your new bass once you get it! :thumbsup:

Holdsg, DTRN, Peter Torning and 7 others like this.
  4. JRA

JRA my words = opinion Supporting Member

IME/IMO,

what counts:
    - neck feel
    - instrument balance