1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

How long to give a disappeared member

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by BklynKen, Mar 28, 2013.

1. So I started playing with a singer/guitarist at the end of Nov. We came up with some great songs, and even more after we found a drummer a couple of months later. A little over a month after finding the drummer, we played out for the first time. We had seven original songs. Went well. That was March 8. That was the last time we saw the singer/guitarist, and the last communication was a text message from him a few days later, just answering my question about a new song's title. We haven't heard from him since. I'm getting impatient and want to get back on track. Trying to figure out how long is reasonable to give. I think we were building something really good. But unless he's dead or in a coma, I think this is really uncool and disrespectful to me and the drummer. Even if you're having some serious problems, I don't think it's unreasonable to ask to get a simple message asking to give you a couple of weeks or whatnot.

Thanks.

2. mellowinman

mellowinman Free Man

Oct 19, 2011
    Minneapolis
    Time's already up, if you ask me.

3. pacojas

pacojas "FYYA BUN"

Oct 11, 2009
    MEXICANADAMERICA
    if he's met his soul-mate, he'll be worthless when he returns. send out the pink slip, IMHO. :(

4. Mushroo

Mushroo Supporting Member

Apr 2, 2007
    Massachusetts, USA
    He's just not that into you.

5. Raymeous

Raymeous

Jul 2, 2010
    San Diego
    It could be one of those "moms in the hospital things".