Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I HATE HATE HATE INCIDENTAL JAZZ.

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Stoned Bass, Jun 23, 2005.

1. Im sorry it just sounds like noise from 1925 but it's a personal thing.(sorry jazzers, If you love it play it)

But I play in punk, rock and classic rock styles and I can't tell you how many stuck up Jazz bassists have scowled at me because I use a pick and like a crisp hard sound rather than a wimpy thud.

Yesterday I was just jamming at my local music club and I was making some mean sounds with my beloved pick.

Then out of nowhere some south-african guy(nothing against south africans) takes my P bass off me (Grrr) and says "you don't know how to play, listen"
    Then he show's me a C (well duh I've been playing for 4 years)and starts slapping the hell out of my poor bass playing this incidental jazz/ska rubbish.
    It sounded awful and all my mates were really p'd off.
    what is wrong with a pick???

sorry about the rant but I had to get it off my chest..
    no offense. :bawl: :scowl:

2. I can think of SO many things wrong with playing with a pick, but that would just be stating my opinion. I can state some things that are different in playing with or without a pick. Fingerstyle is probably the prefered style, im just taking a guess. In my personal opinion I love the sound of finger style, and I'll have you know with a lil' bit of eq'ing and the right technique I can get a sound similar, if not exact to what a pick sounds like. All playing with a pick, in my opinion does, is allows you to play just that little bit faster, but I can play the same speed, with 3 fingers so it makes no diference in that department. Some people find it offensive playing bass with a pick ahaha. I'm one of them, but I don't go around trash talking anyone who does.

3. Gomez

Gomez Live from the Shire

Apr 15, 2005