Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Jackson JPB-9 bass - ever seen one ?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jimfriar, Feb 21, 2006.

1. I have a chance to get one of these guys - has anyone ever owned one ? or have any info on them ? I think they are MIJ - and only for a little while in the mid 90's ? Any info at all would be appreciated.

Thx

Jim

2. Techmonkey

Techmonkey

Sep 4, 2004
    Wales, UK
    I've never played that particular model before, but I have a soft spot for Jackson basses (being a Jackson exclusive guitarist myself) and that thing looks stunning!
    Just to clarify: it is this that you mean, yeah?
    [​IMG]

3. yakesm

yakesm

Jan 25, 2006
    Ionia MI
    Never seen the JPB-9, I have an 8 looks almost identical, body shape, pups, neck etc. How about a JPB-8 anyone have one of those?

4. sorry - my bad - this one is a JPB-8

5. yakesm

yakesm

Jan 25, 2006
    Ionia MI
    To my knowledge this was a three month run by Jackson. A lawsuit by a german luither put a halt to the production. I am also looking for more information as you do not see many of them. It would be nice to know how many jackson made.

6. doti

doti

Feb 23, 2008
    I actualy own one, and have been playing it for quite some time. it,s a good bass but has trouble with the neck.. too weak.

7. farfadet

farfadet

Jan 26, 2008
    Paris, FRANCE
  8. Baryonyx

Baryonyx Banned

Jul 11, 2005
    Marathon Man
    They do look pretty similar, but I think these "shape copy" lawsuits are such a load of tripe. Look at all the Fender rip offs! :rollno:

9. ROON

ROON

Aug 5, 2006
    Sydney, Australia
    People can copy Fenders because they don't have the body shapes copyrighted.
    Personally, I'd be pissed if I was a small luthier and some massive company stole my design.

10. Baryonyx

Baryonyx Banned

Jul 11, 2005
    Marathon Man
    Your first point is indeed true but...