1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Let's settle the tuner placement question!

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Stringmaster, Sep 18, 2010.

1. At the front, before my pedals.

80.0%
  2. At the back, after my pedals.

20.0%
  1. Ok folks,
    I'm fairly new to effects, but in my research I have seen people swear by either putting their tuner at the very begging of their chain, or at the very end. To me having it at the end makes the most sense; Doesn't buffer the sound going into your overdrive pedal, cuts off signal after any interference that your pedals might create or pickup, and it tunes the note at the end if the chain so the not at the end is known to be accurate. The majority of tuners are at the front though, so please tell me where your tuner goes and why.

2. Robertron

Robertron

Feb 12, 2010
    NewYork, NY
    There's no way to "settle" it. Not for every pedalboard anyway.

Some people like it at the beginning, in the middle, or at the end of the chain. Some people run their signal into a tuner through an extra loop like with the VTBassDLX and other pedals.

When I finally pick up a tuner it's going on my board wherever it fits best, regardless of where it is in the chain.

3. deBont Amps

deBont Amps Commercial User

Apr 10, 2007
    Netherlands
    deBont Amps
    Depending on what effects you use, the tone can be modified is ways it can become unclear for a tuner how to pickup the right frequencies. Let's say you use a flanger and octaver before going into the tuner. It will have a hard time detecting the right note.

So I voted; At the front

4. strke-fender

strke-fender

Feb 26, 2009
    There is also the argument, if the tuner was last and tuned after effects, the properly tuned signal would be sent to the amp and mix

But, I guess effects only really hinder the tracking efficenty of tuners.