1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Minor ii-V-I in Jazz... WTH?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Matthew_84, Aug 4, 2018.

1. So, I’m a bit of a newb in Jazz, and I’m no music theory major...

From what I understand the Major ii-V-I is pretty straightforward. The progression is diatonic and based off of the natural major (Ionian) scale. The ii would be the Dorian mode of the root scale, and the V would be the Mixolydian mode of the root scale.

However, the Minor ii-V-I seems to be a bit of a mess. I’ve read a few TB threads and read a few other sources and there seems to be many ways to play this progression. A lot of examples actually seem to modulate keys for every chord... WTH is going on?

I’m assuming there’s no standard way to play it, and everyone plays it however they want for the song.

Is there any way someone could list the various ways it can be played, and maybe list which ways are the most common, or recommended for a jazz newb to start with?

Thanks in advance.

joebar and leonard like this.
  2. foal30

foal30

Dec 3, 2007
    New Zealand
    Hi.

I think the way you understand the Major ii-V-I is good

With the Minor version of this progression it's possible to think of all three chords as Melodic Minor

In C minor :

Dm7(b5) think F melodic minor
    G7(b9) think Ab melodic minor
    Cm (maj7) think C melodic minor

3. foal30

foal30

Dec 3, 2007
    New Zealand
    You can think of the three chords in the above example as all being from
    C Harmonic Minor

As another way to look at things

Also a minor ii-v may not end with a m/maj7 chord

"Fly me to the Moon" goes to a m7

"Stella by Starlight" goes to a maj7

Matthew_84 and Spin Doctor like this.
  4. foal30

foal30

Dec 3, 2007
    New Zealand