newbie from EU

Discussion in 'Welcome Forum - New Member Intros' started by kibodwin, Jul 22, 2018.

1. kibodwin

kibodwin

Jul 22, 2018
    Hello all,
    After reading up on the swimming speed of bass fish ( surprisingly fast!) I finally ended up here. I also discovered it might be illegal to play a fish, not even mentioning the potential smell!
    I am an absolute beginner, I don't even have my bass guitar yet ( a hand me down from my brother) so I don't know how many strings I will have to deal with... Or if there is am amp included...
    I plan to try practice 10 to 20 minutes a day during the week (weekends are busy, I might have to take up bass fishing..!).
    I plan to start learning from YouTube videos so any pointers are welcome. I promise to not waste too much time on bass fishing videos.
    I was also wondering if there was not a sort of effects box I could plug into and listen on headphones, I think some kid in school decades ago had something like this, I think it was programmable for different effects.
    Anyhow, I hope to be making some horrible noises followed by perhaps a nice fish stew soon!
    :)

2. kibodwin

kibodwin

Jul 22, 2018
    Another quick question if I may, would I need to do any hand exercises to help with the guitar playing? I would like to minimise any potential for muscle strain... I don't think playing bass is physically demanding but as I have never touched a bass guitar it might help to work up a bit of hand strength. Also might help in filleting the fish....

Oddly likes this.
  3. Welcome. Hand exercises; how to hold the beast, how to get sound from it and how to mute some of the string noise - yes, that's first. The following will get into that. How to get started?

While you wait on your bass learn the notes on the fretboard. See a Cmaj7 chord and know where the C note is located. We'll get into the maj7 stuff later. Root notes first.