Playing with a pick: why so unpopular?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by OldSchoolFlats, Sep 27, 2021.

1. OldSchoolFlats

OldSchoolFlats

May 29, 2021
    I have exclusively (well, with rare exceptions) played palm-muted, with a pick, since the ‘70s. Lets ignore the many years here/there where I didn’t play at all. Only ever played for fun: parties, church folk group, and drum/bass jams.

Anyway, in starting up again, I have been playing exclusively finger-style and slap for a few months now. Getting pretty good with muting, but individual note duration and articulation needs work.

Anyway, listening via headphones - I have been playing unplugged a lot, and not using amp to bother family - my picking sounded much better than finger-style. Also, I am much faster with a pick.

Any pick players out there? Not just occasional, but all-the-time pick players, perhaps Carol Kaye style (showing my age here)?

I want to keep-up with slap, but not so sure about finger-style.

2. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Yamaha, Ampeg, Line 6, EMG
    It’s never a bad idea to increase your skill sets. But plenty of folks use picks on bass. I do sometimes, especially if it’s something hard that I can’t play with fingers.

3. G-Dog

G-Dog What a fun place! Supporting Member

Like Jimmy says, plenty of bassists use picks! If it fits the song/tone/whatever you're going for, go for it and don't worry about it. It's not really unpopular, it just seems that some people "look down" on it. :rollno: That's their preference. That don't make it The Only Way for everybody. But, so what?!?

It's like some bassists' preferences for tubes versus solid state amps. Some tube aficionados seem to "look down" on solid state amps. That's their preference, not The Only Way. But, again, so what?!? :eyebrow:

You do you. And don't worry that someone else does it differently. You can't please all the people all the time. Different strokes for different folks! :cool: