1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Should singers who front a band know chord progressions?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Pork_Chop, Apr 12, 2015.

1. Pork_Chop

Pork_Chop

May 11, 2012
    Boulder, CO USA
    Is it normal for a dedicated singer in a band not to know chord progressions? I’m filling in this Friday for a band whose bassist moved away unexpectedly. The guitarist is in Brazil, not getting home until Thursday night and can’t be reached. I got the set list and asked the other two members (drummer, and singer) what the chord progressions were on a few of their songs. The drummer understandably didn’t know, but I assumed the singer would. When I asked her, she became kind of angry and said she didn't know. I thought a voice was considered an instrument.
    This is my first time playing in a band with a dedicated singer. All the other bands I've been in were either instrumental, or one of us took care of the vocals.

basslayer and Matthew_84 like this.
  2. RoadRanger

RoadRanger Supporting Member

Feb 18, 2004
    NE CT
    Yup, quite normal.

3. Furious_Man77

Furious_Man77 Low frequencies since 1997

Jul 5, 2010
    Indiana
    +1

4. lfmn16

lfmn16 Supporting Member

Sep 21, 2011
    charles town, wv
    I got roasted on TB for just suggesting that a singer should know what key they sing a song in. Even I would never expect them to know the chords to a song.

Rocker949, elkkid2, StayLow and 7 others like this.
  5. Winfred

Winfred

Oct 21, 2011
    It is quite common, yes. Should it be? No.

Count your blessings if you find a singer that comes in at the right time, nails the phrasing, and sings in key. And if they're also a good front-person, you've hit the jackpot.

6. catcauphonic

catcauphonic High Freak of the Low Frequencies Supporting Member

Mar 30, 2012
    Seattle WA
    It's totally normal.