1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

SOMEONE BUILD ME MY IDEAL BASS!

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by chriscisme, Jan 26, 2012.

1. chriscisme

chriscisme

Dec 20, 2005
    Hey All,

Im a left handed bassist searching for the holy grail. The retail market selection is VERY sparse, so im looking towards luthiers to help me build one.

Specs

- 5-6 string
    - Preferably Bartolinis

trying to get a look like a carvin/lecompte bass.

anyone out there who i can go into more detail with let me know.

thanks

2. chriscisme

chriscisme

Dec 20, 2005
    also, looking for around 1500 dollar budget.

3. Grant Bass

Grant Bass

Oct 14, 2010
    cant solicate on this board....unfortuanatly.
    email some builders directly; the price range is a litlle low imo

4. chriscisme

chriscisme

Dec 20, 2005
    if i knew builders to email, i wouldnt put up this post in the first place

if anyone could give me a bunch of names of builders, thatd be fantastic.

5. +1 on both remarks.. raw material of a 5 string easily gets you up to 1200 dollars on the retail market

find build threads of builders that suit your style and PM them

6. gb_bassclef

gb_bassclef

Oct 26, 2007
    Paris France
  7. FBB Custom

FBB Custom TalkBass Pro Commercial User

Jan 26, 2002
    Maryland
    Owner: FBB Bass Works
    Carvin doesn't make a left-handed model?

8. Builders generally aren't paying retail price for hardware, sometimes electronics, and it all matters where you live and what you want for wood. In my experience the material cost for a bass is more like $300-600 on average not that it can't go as high as you want!

And to the OP, support your local luthier! Ask around music stores, and musicians on your scene and you'll find one within driving distance for sure.