1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

410 with a 115. Why so much hate????

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Jscriv, Jun 12, 2018.

1. Jscriv

Jscriv

Feb 3, 2017
    I'm pretty new to the cabinet and head game. Always been a combo guy. I currently have a an acoustic bn410 (I know it's poopoo but it was super cheap) and I've been thinking of pairing an acoustic bn115 with it. Turns out the neo series really don't sound that bad.

Now this is just for fun to see if I like the multi cabinet rig and itll only cost me around 400 bucks between the two cabinets. One was on clearance and I'll pick the second up used. If I do like it in going to go to a better, preferably American made product.

I have noticed everyone seems to advise against 410/115 combo. Why? Teach me oh wonderful talkbass members. GAS is taking hold and I wanna buy stuff!

Pbassmanca and Ellery like this.
  2. nolezmaj

nolezmaj Supporting Member

Sep 22, 2011
    Europe
    Try it, maybe you will like how it sounds. I had a 410&115 cabs at my rehersal place and I hated how they sounded together. Every step further or aside from the cabs, sound changed from normal to boomy and back. So, I would unplug 410 and just go with 115.

3. murphy

murphy

May 5, 2004
    Toronto, Canada
    It might work for you....just watch the 15 is not overpowered and gets damaged as 410 is usually louder and will hide the sounds of the 15 struggling to keep up
    people here recommend getting another 410
    or a 210 has a better match cone surface area to a 15

25 years ago I preferred my hartke XL410 with a 115XL than both my 410XLs together
    But since..with Eden...Bergantino ...Epifani....and SVT810 cabs I prefer not to mix a 410 with a 15....and always unplug the GK 15 from the 410 at rehearsal