1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Alesis 3630 or DBX 166xl?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by radioadbass, Mar 23, 2010.

1. the 3630 all the way

6.9%
  2. dbx all the way

93.1%
  1. I'm a fairly new bass player-former drummer for my band. I want a rack compressor for my rig, and have heard mixed reviews about the Alesis and the DBX models...anyone have any suggestions? I've already taken into consideration DBX is priced higher, but is that for good reason or is it just an over-priced brand? Alesis...or DBX?:help:

2. I'm not voting- although I used the 3630 for awhile, I've heard a lot of bad about it. The DBX stuff in general seems to have a better rep, but I have no first-hand experience.

Did you read Bongomania's reviews?

3. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    between those two, the dbx because the 3630 is very noisy. but neither are much good for bass imho.

4. I've got a dbx 166 and two 166A's. They are fine utility compressors which I use on bass players all the time. They just compress stuff in a fairly transparent manner, which is good if that's what you are looking to do. If you want something that sounds interesting in some way you probably need to look elsewhere.

I encountered one of them Alesis units in a dude's project studio one time. I thought it sounded remarkably crappy but I was also struggling with the console EQ on a Mackie 8 bus and a set of low end KRK monitors at the same time, so who knows.

5. walterw

walterw Supportive Fender Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 20, 2009
    alpha-music.com
    the reviews i've seen (as well as my own experience) are not mixed at all :spit:

(edit: i take that back; some folks really like them wedged under doors or behind tires.)

6. duderasta

duderasta

Feb 25, 2010
    Tampa, FL