Getting Schooled - Prepping for a gig

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by BaileyMan, Jun 22, 2022.

1. BaileyMan

BaileyMan Supporting Member

Jan 8, 2012
    San Francisco
    Not exactly humor and not yet a gig story. I suppose it's a gig-prep post.

This drummer I recently started playing with asked me if I wanted to play a Saturday night gig at one of the local venues that's been around for decades with a Senegalese singer. It's one of my bucket list venues. I have almost no experience with Senegalese, West African, or any African music for that matter, but I couldn't turn down the opportunity.

I'm a White guy learning these tunes, and man the Africans are schooling me! In a good way.

They will tell me, "Brother, no. It's not like that." And then they'll come over, I'll hand them my bass and they'll show me what to play. And I'm off and running. The syncopations, the note attack and durations, how it all fits together. it's a lot to think about and I often wonder what the heck am I doing here?! I am so under qualified for this job. But they're happy with me, they like my playing.

I let go of most of my ego and just stay open to their generous, patient teachings.

I am honored to be receiving these lessons from their lineages and am grateful for their generosity and patience as we navigate communication differences linguistically, culturally, and musically.

It has been good, but I definitely feel like I've been thrown in the deep end!

We've had two rehearsals in 4 days and at least one more, hopefully two more before our gig the end of July. Everyone else in the band knows these songs, so the pressure is on and I gotta put some time in!

droo46, QweziRider, Thorny1 and 107 others like this.
  2. RattleSnack

RattleSnack

Sep 22, 2011
    Europe