Remembering Music Theory

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Justin Urry, Jan 11, 2015.

1. Justin Urry

Justin Urry

Jan 11, 2015
    USA
    Hey guys! I'm new to talkbass, this is awesome!
    I'm a young bass player who is having trouble remembering modes and arpeggios. Any tips on helping me or anybody remember these things? I feel like I could take my bass playing and writing to the next level with these things stuck in my head.

2. JTE

JTE Supporting Member

Mar 12, 2008
    Central Illinois, USA
    Don't even try to memorize, but rather learn. If you can't remember a scal, you don't know that scale.To know a scale means you know how it's constructed ( you know the whole-steps and half-steps), you know how to figure out the notes in your head and on paper in all 12 keys with correct enharmonics (you not only know that G has an F#, you understand why, and why it's not called Gb), you can figure out the fingering over to octaves at least ascending and descending, and you know what each note sounds lik BEFORE you play it. Same with arppegios.

Learning this stuff in an organized and logical order is how you learn instead of simply regurgitating memorized bits and pieces. Search the TB General Instruction forum for "order of theory" for reliable and accurate guidance. If you learn that the diatonic major scale is WWHWWH, that we use each note onc and only onc, and that C hs no sharps or flats, then you can determine FOR YOURSELF the correct notees in all the other keys.

If you learn how chords are built in thirds by harmonizing the major scale, you learn not only the four primary 7th arppegios (Major 7, minor7, dominant 7, and minor 7 b5), but you also lean WHY I and IV are Major 7; why ii, iii, and vi are minor 7, V is dominant 7, and viii is minor 7 b5, AND how ii V I ties a chord progression to a key so you don't think of them as three discrete unrelatd entities.

John

zontar and hintz like this.
  3. elgecko

elgecko

Apr 30, 2007