Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

SEI Waiter

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Paddy, Feb 6, 2006.

1. Paddy

Paddy

Apr 19, 2005
    Kent England
    I've done the deed - I am now officially a SEI waiter. :hyper: :hyper: :hyper:

I've always liked SEI's and I've toyed with the idea of getting one in the past. The clincher for me was Matthew Foote's thread on his SEI 7 string fretted - beautiful, beautiful bass - check his thread out. Matthew also kindly replied to a PM with positive noises.

Martin, Johnny & Alex at the Gallery are great guys to deal with. I've never done the custom thing before and I must admit I was quite apprehensive. The guys all put me at my ease and spent ages making sure everything was just right. You come away with the impression that they really will go the extra mile for you.

Martin and I spent ages looking at woods and Martins patience and knowledge really made the whole thing a great experience. I want a growly sound and it's nice for me that we are using interesting woods to try and achieve that.

Here's the spec so far

Flamboyant Offset 5 String
    34" scale
    7 Piece Neck - Wenge with Maple Stringers
    Full Facing front & back - Bookmatched Madrona Burr
    24 fret Fingerboard - Honduras Rosewood
    Blue Side LED's
    Walnut Wings
    Gold Hardware
    Brass Nut
    ABM Bridge
    Battery/Electronic covers cut from facing

I've asked for the Strapbutton to go behind the top horn so as not to spoil the lines.

The only thing left to decide is the pickups and electronics. What I do know is that it's going to be 2 humbuckers and the circuit is going to be a 3 band eq. I'll probably get some custom Kent Armstrongs but hey any ideas/suggestions out there?