So your bass has a hum

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by DiabolusInMusic, May 25, 2014.

1. DiabolusInMusic

DiabolusInMusic Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism

Good day Talkbass.

This guide is not meant as a slight on the already great guide on here, I have just found myself repeating the same post over 100 times so I figured I might as well make my own guide and link it from here on out. I am far from an electronics expert; I like to consider myself a shielding expert. I have shielded many basses from several major manufacturers and have yet to meet a bass I couldn't silence.

This guide will only cover shielding, not soldering tips, wiring help or common sense (like soldering over a cloth, not your bass.) Please read the entire guide before trying anything and feel free to PM me with any questions you might have.

I personally hate hum and would like to remove it from every bass I can. I learned a lot of what I know from here, so thanks for the help and sorry if I steal your tips and publish them here.

A simple diagnosis can tell you if your bass has a shielding hum or a grounding hum:

If your bass has a hum that goes away when you touch the strings/bridge/metal than you have a shielding issue. This guide will resolve the issue.

If your bass has a hum that gets louder when you touch strings/metal/bridge you have a grounding issue. Please refer elsewhere for help on the issue, but I would check your ground connection under the bridge just for good measure.

If your bass has a hum that remains constant regardless of touching metal/strings/bridge you have a deeper issue, although I would check the ground wire coming from the bridge in this case as well. It might be 60hz hum if you are using singles coils. Shielding does not address 60hz hum.

Additionally, if your bass makes a popping sound when you touch metal/strings/bridge you are hearing static electricity discharging. Shielding will resolve the issue.