1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Upright Intonation

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Ian Votaw, Mar 30, 2016.

1. Ian Votaw

Ian Votaw

Oct 16, 2015
    Dallas Texas
    Hey talk bass anyone have tips for left hand and intonation?

Last edited: Apr 25, 2016
  2. hdiddy

hdiddy Official Forum Flunkee Supporting Member

Mar 16, 2004
    Richmond, CA
    Are you studying with a teacher? I have you done some work with Simandl?

dermihi and LM Bass like this.
  3. Ian Votaw

Ian Votaw

Oct 16, 2015
    Dallas Texas
    Yes I am studying with a teacher. UNT grad he's a fantastic upright player. But I still run into the same problem of having good pitch in our lessons after doing exercises but the next day it's gone.

4. hdiddy

Mar 16, 2004
    Richmond, CA
    Some comments:
    * Hand shape for intonation should be a feeling that has to be experienced and felt, and to recall that feeling of that shape when you play. It's an evisceral thing, like riding a bike or dancing. Memorize not just the notes but that feeling that the hand takes when you play in that shape.
    * With DB, you can't exactly expect to put your fingers in the right place consistently and always be in tune. There's a mental game in play where you need to expect the right pitch so your hands will automatically correct to it. If you can sing it (especially in your head) in tune, you'll have a better chance to play it in tune. Sing a pitch first, play it on the piano, and then self-correct your mental expectation of how that pitch should sound. If you dont' remember how something should sound, you're going to be challenged from the get-go. Can you single all the scales in tune (at least in your head)?