1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Looking for THAT tone - ampeg 8x10

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bottomfeeder333, Apr 8, 2009.

1. So, I just picked this bad boy up for 700 bucks used. He said he bought it back in the 90's for 1400 when ampeg was still making "amazing equipment". I've only been playing bass for 3 years, and more recently i'm getting into the tone grind.

I think i know what I want, but i'm still learning. I'm always learning. Anyway, I need a head to power this bad boy. I like deep and thick tone with a good amount of punch. Treble is nice, but not quite as import to me.

Bassist tone whom i love are:

Justin Chancellor
    Geddy Lee
    Tim Commerford
    Chris Wolstenholme
    Flea

Now, I know that tone comes from the bass, cable, amp, cab, and effects all in between. But I'm basically asking for a good amp to match with this that's going to really push this baby.

Thanks so much!

First Post :hyper:

2. sedan_dad

sedan_dad Supporting Member

Feb 5, 2006
    Columbus,Ohio
    SVT comes to mind.

3. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    Yeah, first thing most of us would think of is an SVT. (vintage, CL, or VR). Truth is, alot of amps will do just fine. You need to go play a few and see what you think.

4. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    SVT tuber of some sort, definitely.

5. johnk_10

johnk_10 vintage bass nut Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 16, 2008
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    John K Custom Basses
    IMO, if you get an vintage SVT or an SVT- VR, your amp searching days are over. they are the perfect compliment to your cab.

6. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008